Self Portrait Project

This is my self portrait project

Final Drawing:20160505_163225

Original Picture:
bw3

Artist statement

I chose this picture because it shows a dark side and a light side to myself. I feel that i have always been the light in the darkness because i always try to look at the positive side of things in life, I have always been able to help loved ones when they needed me most and i am a hero to them.  I have always had things to look forward to and i pray that i always will.  I spent a lot of time on this portrait and i am proud of the overall result.  Last semester i had used charcoal in a different class and i was not very fond of it, mainly because of how messy it can be.  However after taking the time to practice using charcoal more over time i like using charcoal now.  I grew fond of this project in the time i have worked on this project and many people helped me learn things about charcoal that are new to me.

Elements and principals of design
My self portrait uses many elements and principals of design.  My beard and mustache use texture.  The strands of hair and reflection are lines.  The contrast crates shapes that gives the drawing abstract form.  My self portrait drawing also uses depth in many areas of the drawing, such as my hands,  beard/mustache, and my hair.

About ryanwilliams1337

I am Ryan Williams, former halo semi pro, former guitarist for school of rock and multiple successful bands, and current student at Alfred state majoring in digital media and animation. I had a lot of fun modding games as a kid and that is what triggered my interest with animation, i listen to progressive/technical death metal and all genres of metal.
This entry was posted in non-timebased and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

