Understanding comics notes and thoughts

Here are my notes and thoughts from “understanding comics”

On page 45 Scott admits that he likes the masking effect but many of his favorite artists use it very rarely.  I believe this is important to know

on page 58 Scott states “by drawing borders around the vocabulary of comics I hope I haven’t made it smaller than it is.  Comics artists have a universe of icons to choose from” I agree but it depends on how many small things you can draw.

On page 61 Scott says “even today as I write and draw this panel, I have no guarantee that anything exists outside of what my five senses report to me.  In this panel you can’t even see my legs, yet you assume that they’re there.”  I believe this to be true because you must have some trust in your senses in order to do this.

On page 63 Scott states “This phenomenon of observing the parts but perceiving the whole has a name.  It’s called closure.”  Scott continues to give examples of this and lists reasons why it’s important, I agree with his reasoning.

From pages 68 to79 Scott talks a lot about transitions.  I believe this information to be important to understand.

Scott seems to talk a lot about closure and its importance on many pages.  This is good information to have.

On page 103 Scott talks about “bleeds” and how they are used, he also continues to use them for the next few pages.

I notice on page 124 Scott draws characters from Charlie brown.

In chapter 4 on various pages Scott talks about symbols and how they evolve.

On page 136 Scott states “In this chapter, we’ve dealt with the invisible worlds of senses and emotions, but in fact all aspects of comics show it to be an art of the invisible.”  I think it’s a good quick summary of the chapter.

On page 142 Scott states “Some written languages survive to this day, bearing traces of their ancient pictorial heritage.” Sometimes I find looking at pictures to be more informative than reading.

In chapter 6 Scott seems to talk a lot about how both words and pictures tell stories.

In chapter 7 Scott talks about “A path consisting of six steps.” The steps to this path Scott speaks of are 1: idea/purpose, 2: form, 3: idiom, 4: structure, 5: craft, and 6: surface.  I find this to be quite informative.

In chapter 8 Scott talks a lot about color, this is a shorter chapter but it all seems to be pretty important.
On page 206 Scott states that “Comics is a great balancing act.  An art as subtractive as it is additive.”  I agree with this statement for many reasons.

In chapter 9 Scott seems to talk a lot about “sequential art”.

Overall I liked “understanding comics”, the background images were a bit distracting but they were good distractions.

About Ryan Williams

I’m Ryan Williams, I'm currently majoring in Digital Media and Animation. My primary focus is 3D/2D art and 3D animations. Programs i currently use for 3D art/animations are Maya and substance painter/designer. Mediums i use for 2D art consist of charcoal, pen/ink, pencil, Photoshop, and illustrator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

